MyGradeBook Help Menu
Archive Section Codes Screen
This screen is used to archive section codes so that they may be re-used in subsequent school years. It is generally used when a school year has ended and you are preparing to upload sections for the next school year. Since your group's course-section codes must be unique, it is necessary to archive previous years' codes so that they may be re-used in subsequent years.

Note that section codes may not be archived until a school year has ended. Also note that for the functions provided by this screen, the end dates of your sections are used in determining to which school year they belong. Sections belong to the school year during which they end.

Grades for archived sections are not include in the files generated manually via the Integration > Download > Grades screen or files generated by the Automated Grade Downloading process. In order to download grades for archived sections, the sections must be unarchived.

This screen is accessed by clicking the Toolkit link, followed by the Year End link, followed by the Archive Section Codes link. This screen is enabled only when district integration is enabled using the Integration > Info screen.

Archiving Section Codes
Click the archive button for a school year that has ended and that has unarchived sections. You will be prompted to click the archive button again to confirm this action. You may also click the cancel button.

The system will insert a five character prefix for each section code so that you do not have to worry about conflicting course-section values when you upload sections for a new school year. The prefix is based on the two-digit calendar years of the start and end dates of the school year, followed by a dash. For example, section codes will be prefixed with "0506-" when archiving a school year that started on 8/20/2005 and ended on 6/30/2006.

Note that archiving is not allowed if any of the prefixed section codes would create a conflict with other existing sections. If a conflict occurs during the archiving process, a message will be displayed on the screen and none of the sections for the selected school year will be archived.

Archiving only changes the section codes for the sections in a particular school year so that you can upload section with the same codes for a new school year. Archiving does not delete any data or suppress the display of any data for teachers, students, or parents.

Unarchiving Section Codes
The screen will include an unarchive button for school years with archived sections. Click the button to remove the prefix from the section codes. You will be prompted to click the unarchive button again to confirm this action. You may also click the cancel button.

Note that unarchiving is not allowed if any of the unprefixed section codes would create a conflict with other existing sections. If a conflict occurs during the unarchiving process, a message will be displayed on the screen and none of the sections for the selected school year will be unarchived.

Unarchiving is not normally done since archiving only prefixes section codes to avoid conflicts and all data are still visible. However, there may be rare instances where you will want to restore the original section codes. Unarchiving only removes the five character prefix from the archived section codes. Unarchiving does not delete any data or suppress the display of any data for teachers, students, or parents.

Deleting Archived Sections
Warning: Deleting archived sections for a school year physically and permanently deletes all of the data for the archived sections for that school year. All of the grades, attendance, and comments that are associated with the archived sections for that school year will be permanently removed.

The screen will include a delete button for school years with archived sections. Click the button to delete the archived sections and all associated data. You will be prompted to click the delete button again to confirm this action. You may also click cancel.

You might want to delete archived sections that are more than a year old just to clean things up. If your group is large or you have been using the system for a long time, you might have to delete a previous school year's sections because groups are not allowed to have more than 50,000 sections in the system.


Privacy | Terms of Use | Link To Us | Help | Contact Us
© 1999 - 2017 KMKVGK Inc. All rights reserved
Ver 11.66 - GB - Page generated in 0 seconds